New Me Journey — When the good outnumbers the bad

(note: I started writing this on April 19, but had gotten busy with work, then I got sick and it took a back-burner. Later in the post you’ll see where I pick up to present day.)

Raise your hand if you’ve heard this phrase before:

“Losing weight is not easy.”

You may put your hand down now.

For those who are oblivious, I have been on a journey to create a new me. It was widely publicized about a seven weeks ago that I had been making pretty good process. It started with me losing 40 pounds in a year, then on April 10 that total weight loss hit 50 pounds.

April 10 I stepped on the scale and weighted 251 pounds, a far cry (and seemingly a different person) from March 2015 when I was 301. At that moment (April 10) I had weighed less than I had at any previous point in my adult life.

Man, I was feeling good.

Uh oh.

Then, as most people who go through a weight loss journey experience, I had a hiccup.

After being as low as 251, it seemed no matter what I did for the next week didn’t help. I’m not going to sit here and say I totally fell off the ship in terms of my eating habits, but I was a little less strict than I had been.

In the meantime I had upped my cardio (coincidentally, I didn’t do it simply because of the fact I wasn’t eating perfectly. It just happened to work out that way.) I skipped lifting for fear of building muscle rather than shedding fat.

But the number on the scale seemed to always go in the wrong direction.

April 16, I hit what would be the worst point in the three-plus months I’ve been serious about bettering myself. In less than a week’s time I had gone up to 259.

Yikes.

But, then I thought to myself about the phrase at the beginning of this post.

Back on track

“Losing weight is not easy.”

It was frustrating to think that after all the hard work I had done since the first of the year was for naught, but I wasn’t going to allow myself to get discouraged.

Why? Because this is a process. From one day to the next, some days will be better than others. For example, here’s a look a how my weight has fluctuated in the last week, month, two months and three months.

one week

one week

one month

one month

two months

two months

three months

three months

As you can see, there are valleys, and there are definitely peaks. This is not a constant decrease in weight. Some days I lose, others I gain. The key, I have found, is when the good outnumbers the bad.

And, as these graphs show, there have been far more good days than bad days, although recently it seems like the opposite. However, there is still a lot to be proud about. The picture on the left below me from when I was at Central Michigan University in 2010. At right is me Friday night.

I don’t know what I weighed back in 2010, but I can guarantee it was not even close to 250 pounds. Looking at them side by side, the difference is incredible.

(note: the following is written April 28)

Better than ever

That week was tough, when it seemed no matter what I did my weight went in the wrong direction. But you know what? I didn’t let it discourage me because, simply, losing weight is not easy. The key was sticking with my routine; lots of cardio, lots of fluids and better eating habits.

I lost those eight pounds I had gained to get back to 251, and on April 22 I hit my next milestone by breaking the 250-pound mark and reached 247 pounds. That means, since March of 2015, I had lost a total of 54 pounds. I was on cloud nine. I had always wanted to get rid of that unwanted weight, but in the past I never gave it much effort and sacrifice.

But what I have been able to accomplish — basically in the last four months — has been pretty astounding. Since the first of the year I had lost 34 pounds, and was now only 17 more pounds away from my goal of 230.

Then, as the intro to this post said, I got sick. I had a fever of 101 degrees, was out of commission for four days and it was killing me on the inside that I hadn’t been able to work out.

I was stressing that I was going to gain weight because I hadn’t been able to hit the gym.

Thankfully, I only gained a few pounds. Still manageable. I just didn’t know when I’d be able to get back to working out again because through the sickness I had been having some breathing issues, and I didn’t know when those issues would subside so I could get back to running and other cardio.

Wednesday, five days since my last day of physical activity, I was able to hop back on a treadmill, lift for the first time in a few weeks and get back to being active again.

To top it off, I played in a couple softball games that night to kick back into gear.

Then today, I dropped another pound, to 246.

There is no better feeling than stepping on the scale and seeing that number continue to drop, even if it may be slow. At the very least, it is progress.

And I feel better than ever.

So, as I write this, I sit here at 246 pounds, 35 pounds lighter than I was on Jan. 1, and 55 pounds smaller than I was in March 2015.

I’ve come a long way in the last 13 months, especially the previous four, but I still have more to go.

I am 16 pounds away from my ultimate goal, the weight I’ve wanted to be for a long time and the weight I never thought I would see again.

Slowly, but surely, I’ll get there.

It’s a marathon, not a sprint.

2 thoughts on “New Me Journey — When the good outnumbers the bad

  1. Great job! My mantra with weight loss is “One day at a time!” Going the slower, rolling route also seems to make it easier to maintain once you get there. You really make the lifestyle a habit over time and that is key! Keep up the tough work!! It is worth the fight!

    • It’s a marathon, not a sprint! Thanks for the kind words, Kathy. It’s been a taxing journey, but so far rewarding; and it will be worth it in the long run!

Leave a Reply

