What I learned today: 8/13/2013

[Author’s note: They say we learn something new every day, right? Well, this is where I will discuss the things I’ve learned in my new life and career experiences. Enjoy.]

I remember when I first realized my eyesight was fading.

In Mr. Bernard’s seventh grade social studies class I had a difficult time seeing the chalkboard. I was even sitting in the front of the class. I could make out what the writing on the wall said, but I had to strain to do so, squinting my eyes, inching my head as close as I could without leaving my seat in order to read the board.

A week or so later I had glasses, which was something I wasn’t proud about.

At that time, having glasses was “nerdy,” and most people I went to school with looked awkward in glasses. So I did what I could to choose frames that wouldn’t make me look awkward.

But apparently, the copper-colored frames I chose looked pink to some.

Not cool.

Two years later I got my first experience with contacts. This came when I was unable to clearly see the pitcher from behind home plate. As a catcher, this is huge, because if I was unable to identify the spin and location of a pitch, how could I hit/catch?

Getting contacts was a life changer. I could ditch those nasty-looking glasses once and for all.

I wore my contacts all day every day; from the moment I woke up until I went to bed at night. I hated my glasses. I hated the way they looked on me, I hated the way people thought they were pink, and therefore would let me know about it.

The only time I would wear my glasses was at night after I had taken my contacts out. And even then, I hardly wore them.

Oh how things change.

In 2007 I got a new pair of glasses (my current pair). The are a black, square-framed pair that I no longer felt embarrassed to wear. I actually liked the way I looked wearing them. Trendy, if you will.

By now, I had changed how I decided to wear my glasses or contacts. During the day (weather permitting), I’d wear contacts so I could wear sunglasses. But as the night came, I’d switch over to my glasses for the remainder of the day; I hated late at night when my contacts started to hurt because I had them in too long. Plus, it goes back to the notion that I actually liked the way I looked in my new spectacles.

A few years ago, it changed again.

I’d wear my glasses all the time, and only wear my contacts while I was at work or playing a sport. I had gotten used to the way my glasses felt and actually preferred to wear them more than my contacts.

And since I’ve moved to Portland, the ONLY time I’ve worn my contacts is during softball practice.

Today, I put my contacts in during my lunch (about 1:30 p.m.) because I had a few errands to run and wanted to wear my sunglasses.

Here I am at 5:30 p.m. and my contacts are starting to bug me.

I used to wear my contacts for hours on end without ever being irritated. Yet here I am after just four hours and I need to take my contacts out.

How things change as we get older.

What I learned today:
After wearing my glasses almost all day every day for the last six weeks and wearing my contacts for just a couple hours at a time, I can no longer wear my contacts for an extended period of time.

Check back tomorrow for my next installment of ‘What I learned today.’

Leave a Reply

