What I learned today: 7/15/2013

[Author’s note: They say we learn something new every day, right? Well, this is where I will discuss the things I’ve learned in my new life and career experiences. Enjoy.]

Change is good.

Two days into my third week here in Portland and at The Commercial Review, I’m amidst a lot of changes.

I changed states.

I changed careers.

I changed my living situation (I live by myself for the first time; no roommates).

I moved to a place where I don’t know a single person.

The CR has a new managing editor (Ray Cooney), a new sports editor (me), a reporter and intern are leaving next month and a new reporter is starting next month.

Facelift in the newsroom.

And just 18 days into my new life, I feel right at home.

Being able to meet people has never been a very difficult task for me. I’m a very friendly person, very communicable, and as evident by the large number of people I knew in high school and different groups and types of people I have hung out with in the past, I can pretty much get along with anybody.

But my biggest concern when moving down here to Portland, Ind., was whether or not I would be welcomed.

Portland is a town where everyone pretty much knows everyone. This is a characteristic I am not at all opposed to, by the way. I like going places and having people know who I am.

I’ve mentioned before that my anonymity in this town would be short lived, and I’m learning that more and more each day as people start to get to know me.

As with any new job, or circle of friends, or a town where everyone knows everyone, it’s hard to thrust yourself into the mix and become, for lack of a better term, “one of the guys.”

But as I continue to meet more and more people of Jay County (and Fort Recovery, Ohio), I’m noticing that “including” myself won’t be as daunting of a task as originally thought.

Although I don’t know many people yet whom I haven’t met because of my job, the people I HAVE met have been nothing but awesome in welcoming me to the area and wishing me the best in my new endeavors.

Glad to know the people of Jay County are accepting me as “The New Guy,” and are looking forward to having me as an integral part of their lives just as my predecessor Ray has been for the last 12 years.

What I learned today:
I’m going to like Portland, and Jay County.

Check back tomorrow for my next installment of What I Learned Today.

Leave a Reply

