What I learned today: 7/10/2013

[Author’s note: They say we learn something new every day, right? Well, this is where I will discuss the things I’ve learned in my new life and career experiences. Enjoy.]

Lot of firsts this week, and it all centers around my first county fair.

The Jay County Fair kicked off Monday, and this the first county fair I have been to that I can remember (my mother told me last night that I had been to one before. I just don’t remember it).

But for all intents and purposes, this is my first fair.

And the first one I’ve had to cover for a paper.

The fair has been a good way for me to realize the way people live out here in rural Indiana. I don’t want to say that I don’t belong; I’m not a fish out of water. It’s just a different lifestyle than the “city-living” I’m used to in Saginaw.

But the fair is a very good place to get an idea of what the people are like. And, it’s something I can see myself getting used to.

I had to shoot photos for the 4-H livestock shows today, and it was the most long, grueling thing I’ve ever done. And I mean grueling in the sense that it was hot and humid as hell, and I was there for two hours before I could even get the two photos I needed.

But, it was something that I can say I’ve done.

Also, Hunter Hayes performed at the fair tonight, which was the first country concert I’ve ever attended. And, contrary to popular belief and the notion that Hayes is the “Justin Bieber of country music,” he puts on a really good show. It is a big pet peeve of mine when singers sound completely different than what they do on their recorded songs, but Hayes sounded just as good live as he does in the studio.

So today, I give you two things.

What I learned today:
Cows taste much better than they look (they’re gross looking animals), and country concerts are fun! (Even if the average age at the show tonight was 14 years old.) I got some great photos too!!!!!

Check back tomorrow for my next installment of What I Learned Today.

Leave a Reply

