What I learned today: 7/8/2013

[Author’s note: They say we learn something new every day, right? Well, this is where I will discuss the things I’ve learned in my new life and career experiences. Enjoy.]

One of the best things about high school was the fact I could not walk through the halls without seeing someone I knew. Whether it was my then-trademarked handshake, a friendly nod or a nice “hello,” I tried to interact with anyone and everyone I could.

On the contrary, walking through campus at Michigan Tech, Delta and then Central Michigan without ever crossing paths with someone I knew was also very cool. I could do what I wanted and slip through the cracks and no one would know a thing about me.

At the same time, however, I would always walk through campus at CMU and hope someone would recognize me by seeing my picture in the paper and have a comment on my column I had written that week.

It never happened.

When I interviewed for my current position, I was told that living in a small town such as Portland and being in the position I had hopes of filling (the position in which I now hold), the anonymity would be short lived.

It took just a mere seven days (two days after my picture was published in The Commercial Review) for someone to notice me.

And it’s something I look forward to very much.

I like going places and having people know me. I was not really considered the “popular kid” during my high school days, but I made it a point to get to know as many people as possible.

I share that same desire here in Portland.

And it started today, when I was at the Portland Pool shooting photographs of the Jay County Summer Swim Team. When I was shooting photos, a guy looked over his shoulder at me and said, “Hey you’re the new sports guy, right?”

“Yes,” I replied.

“I saw your picture in the paper but I couldn’t remember your name.”

“My name is Chris, nice to meet you.”

The first of many similar situations in the months to come.

I’ve made it.

What I learned today:
People are starting to recognize me. I’m going to be a familiar face around Jay County for years to come, and I can’t wait to be an integral part of this area.

Check back tomorrow for my next installment of What I Learned Today.

One thought on “What I learned today: 7/8/2013

  1. Pingback: What I learned today: 7/15/2013 | The Write Schanz

Leave a Reply

