What I learned today: 6/30/2013

Ladies and gentlemen, readers of all ages, welcome back to my blog. I apologize (as always, right?) for the infrequency of my posts.

They say we learn something new every day, therefore, to document my experiences, growth and career as a full-time journalist, as well as experiencing a new state and a new city, I’m starting a new daily content piece on what I learn each day.

Whether it be learning about the journalism industry, the content (area) in which I cover, the city of Portland and the state of Indiana, or anything general that may expand my knowledge of the day, will be posted right here, on the daily.

So, without further adieu, here is what I learned today:

While grocery shopping at the Portland Walmart (where I have been every day since my arrival) I left a few bags of fruits and vegetables at the cashier after checking out.

Upon returning to my apartment and learning of my recent mental mishap, I returned to the store to remedy this situation.

With receipt in hand, I kindly approached the cashier who checked me out and asked her if I had left some groceries behind. Asking me what the items were, I consulted my receipt and told her of the missing items.

She paused checking out her current customer and took me over to the customer service desk where my items were sitting on the counter.

She had a short conversation with the employee behind the desk and said loudly to herself that apparently she was looking for the wrong customer who had left the two bags of fruits and vegetables.

Which led me to believe she was referring to the older gentleman who was in line in front of me.

What I learned today:
People of my stature are not expected to be purchasing “healthy items” — such as fruits and vegetables — from a grocery store.

Check back tomorrow for my next installment of What I Learned Today.

Leave a Reply

