Saddle Brook 2013: Hurt or injured?

(This is the second post in a series detailing my work trip to Saddle Brook, New Jersey.)

My high school football coach used to ask us whenever we were overcome by pain, whether it during practice or in a game, “Are you hurt, or are you injured?”

The difference was, if you were hurt you could continue to play or practice. If you were injured, you could no longer participate in practice or the game.

Well, less than 24 hours into my trip, I’m hurt.

I pulled a muscle in my back this morning before we went into the restaurant. Oddly enough, it had nothing to do with any sort of rough physical activity. All I did was get out of the chair I was sitting in as I was waiting for Tito, Yedid and Shawn to join me.

I’ve taken some pain meds, so hopefully it doesn’t last too long. I hate back pain … it really puts a damper on almost anything related to moving (bending, twisting, walking, breathing).

The bartenders started their training today, and it is cool to finally see how that procedure works. As a kitchen trainer, I am not usually at the location already when the bartenders start their training, but this time around I am so it is cool to get to see that entire process as well. Out of the 13 bartenders, only two of them are male, and between the baker’s dozen of them, they have a TON of experience bartending. They’re going to do really well.

I spent most of the day figuring out the schematics in the kitchen to get an idea of how it is going to operate and where to put things, and Yedid and I also worked on some things in preparation for orientation on Friday when the rest of the trainers arrive.

Speaking of trainers, I can’t wait for the rest of them to get here so we can really get this show on the road. We’re going to have a great time.

Off to bed for me, as it’s 1:55 a.m. and I have to be up at 8:30-8:45. Lots to do tomorrow so I don’t want to be too exhausted. And, I need this back pain to go away.

Remember, I’m hurt, not injured. Thanks, Premo.

Until next time …

Leave a Reply

