Dubai 2012: Journalism

(This is the eighth post in a series detailing my work trip to Dubai, United Arab Emirates.)

[WARNING: CONTAINS GRAPHIC IMAGES. VIEWER DISCRETION IS ADVISED]

It’s pretty crazy to see how journalism differs throughout the world.

If you remember the column I wrote for CM Life a few years ago about how media should be obligated to show the truth no matter how graphic something is, it comes with no surprise that the media outlets in the Middle East have no censor when it comes to what they print. Or maybe they do and I just haven’t seen exactly what they censor.

If you have been watching the news lately you know that Palestine and Israel are at conflict again, and there are a large number of Palestinian children who are being killed. It is big news over here because the U.A.E. is condemning the attacks. The news media here, specifically the Gulf News, the English-language newspaper that is delivered to my hotel room every morning, shows very graphic images of the casualties. Most of them children. For example, yesterday’s front page:

“Barbaric: World watches as Israel continues to murder Palestinian children”

Although in my column a few years ago I took the side of Mr. Lovely and his staff’s decision to run a photo of an American soldier who was a casualty of war, my views differ in this situation.

Yes, I understand I once said media needs to portray the truth, but I feel showing the bodies of dead children is crossing the line.

Say I “flip-flopped” all you want, but I was not at all pleased when I opened up the paper yesterday morning and saw this graphic image. It was definitely not the way I wanted to start my day.

[UPDATED 11/20/2012 @ 12:26 a.m. (11/19/2012 @ 3:26 p.m. EST)]

In the past, I never really cared too much about conflict in the Middle East, but now that I am considerably closer to the “action” than I have ever been in my life, I feel a little more guarded. Granted, the chances of anything happening in close proximity to my current location are pretty slim to none, it could quite possibly become a reality. Just adds to how surreal it continues to be that I’m over here.

Until next time …

Leave a Reply

