Dubai 2012: Paradise

(This is the fifth post in a series detailing my work trip to Dubai, United Arab Emirates.)

It’s almost like being in paradise.

Some people have asked me what the weather is like over here in Dubai, and the above sentence pretty much sums it up well. The weather over here is perfect.

I have yet to see a sunrise, so I don’t really know exactly if there is any sort of haze in the morning, but there are hardly ever clouds in the sky. If there are, then they are just VERY LIGHT clouds. They are so thin and sparse that they hardly produce any shadows.

The temperature during the day hovers in the high-80s to low-90s, but honestly it doesn’t really feel that hot. There is almost a constant breeze from the Persian Gulf that even gusts at night when the temperatures “drop” down to the 70s and low-80s. Yeah, we’re really spoiled with weather here. One of the managers said the other day that the weather during the summer months can get upwards of 50 degrees Celsius which is 122 Fahrenheit. We definitely came over here at the right time, there is no way I could handle it here in the summer months.

On a work-related note, we got a lot of the restaurant put together today, much more than I thought we could get done. The place actually looks like a restaurant. I forgot to take some “before” photos to go with the “after” photos I will take once the restaurant is all set up. Tommy did, though, so I’ll see if I can grab them from him to put in my slideshow once I get home. The dining area is going to look awesome. The light fixtures, although it looks they were just randomly hung up throughout the restaurant, look really cool. At the front door there is a marble or granite Bennigan’s logo IN the floor. See:

20121116-234807.jpg

They are not allowed to serve alcohol in the UAE, so the “bar” area isn’t really a bar. The “bartenders” will be responsible for pouring all drinks (including soft drinks) and also some espresso-based drinks and “oxygen drinks” (whatever that is). They’re essentially the drink czars.

The kitchen area is really small, and the biggest challenge for me will be to find a place for everything we are going to need, especially since there are over 16 cuts of meat I will need to cook. Oh, and did I mention there is no freezer? I definitely have a lot of work to do, but that’s what I’m paid the big bucks for, right?

On my lunch today, Heather, Megan and I walked over a mile to the Dubai Mall to grab some food, and on our way I HAD to shoot a couple photos of the Burj Khalifa (big surprise, right?) When I got back to the hotel after work I went through the photos I took of the tower, and not one of them makes the tower look real. Each photo looks like the tower was photoshopped in, although it clearly wasn’t. The angle of the photo and the placement of the sun just makes the building look fake … but let me tell you, it’s 100% authentic.

20121116-234125.jpg

I’ve been trying my hardest to take OTHER photos while I’m here, but the building is just toooooo awesome. I mean, it’s the tallest structure in the world!

Well, it is approaching 11:45 p.m. and I’m getting pretty tired and I think I’m going to call it a night. We have our kickoff day tomorrow, which is a VERY long day, so I am going to try and get more than six hours of sleep.

Until next time …

2 thoughts on “Dubai 2012: Paradise

    • It really is an amazing place. Every day I was there I had to pinch myself and wondered when (and if) the dream was going to end. So grateful and appreciative of the opportunity to go over there. I’d love to go back.

Leave a Reply

