Fort Worth 2012: Kickoff

(This is the third post in a series detailing my work trip to Fort Worth.)

I’m going to make this short, simply because it is 3:38 a.m. here in Fort Worth, I may or may not have had a few too many beers and I’m pretty tired.

First thing’s first, I just want my nose to stop dripping like a faucet. It is really annoying, especially since I am sick of having a tissue sticking out of my nose as a metaphorical tampon. It’s just not cool.

Today was kickoff day, where we as trainers get to meet the employees and start some of our training. I have a love/hate relationship with this day. I love all the energy the training team has and the energy from (most of) the trainees. But, Kickoff Day is full of a lot of talking and usually I start popping cough drops to help with an irritated throat. Needless to say, I’m glad the day is over.

For those of you who have yet to experience Texas in early November, it is absolutely beautiful. There is hardly a cloud in the sky all day long, and so far the weather has been in the mid- to high-70s and even the low 80s. At night it has gotten down to the mid- to low-50s, which is perfect. To compare, it is like Michigan in May or June. Absolutely perfect. As in, I’d like to LIVE here around this time.

Tomorrow we have a project day where the training team gets the restaurant completely ready to start cooking food, and on Tuesday and Wednesday we actually have our cook off days. During these days the menu is split up and we teach them how to cook half of the menu one day and the other half the next. These are my most favorite days simply because I get to cool food, which is what I am BEST at.

After Wednesday, I return to Saginaw for a few days and then head overseas! Can’t wait!

I apologize for the brevity of this post … I can’t quite keep my eyes open any more.

Until next time…

[Keep checking back for updates on my time in Fort Worth. I will attempt to post every day.]

One thought on “Fort Worth 2012: Kickoff

Leave a Reply

