Plano 2012: Day two

(this is the second post in a series detailing my work trip to Plano.)

Kickoff day tomorrow!

Today was a relatively easy day. We had to get ready for Kickoff Day tomorrow. When the employees come in we have the kitchen staff broken up into three groups which each go through three “classrooms.”

These 50-minute classrooms are designed to give the employees a rundown of what the company is about, some basic information as to what to expect, an intense walk through about food cost and then a pot and pan demonstration where they learn about all the equipment and utensils we have in the restaurant. There is also a classroom for games where the employees play a handful of team building exercises.

In Houston last month I did the food cost and sanitation class with Ashlie and even though I think we did well together, we could have done a better job overall. So when it came time to be assigned our classes to teach this time in Plano, I wanted the same class I had last year because I knew ways to improve. However, I was given the task of giving the tour of the restaurant and the pot and pan demo.

When it was all said and done, I was glad I was given the demo and tour class because I had a lot of material to cover and I would most likely take the entire time doing so. When I did the food cost/sanitation class in Houston I ended up running through the material quickly, and I knew this time I don’t think I’ll have ENOUGH time! I was also glad I was given this class because it would give me an opportunity to teach this class. I want to how to teach both of them so I am more versatile in the future in case I do more store openings.

I’m excited for Kickoff Day because I love having all of the employees in the restaurant so I can show them the things they get to work with and how awesome their restaurant is.

Tomorrow is going to be awesome, I can’t wait.

Ohh, and when we were on lunch today, I saw one of the biggest insects I have seen since I have been in Texas.

20120723-233124.jpg

Until next time …

[Keep checking back for updates throughout my travels while I’m down in Texas. I will try and post every day.]

Leave a Reply

