Houston 2012: Travel Day One

(this is the second post in a series detailing my work trip to Houston.)

At the time of this writing, I am most likely somewhere over southern Illinois about 400 miles into the 1,000-mile flight.

20120615-153855.jpg

Everything thus far has gone without a hitch. As expected, I waited until almost the last possible minute to pack. Finished everything at about 1:30 a.m. Although I was still Wide awake, I watched a few episodes of Blue Mountain State before I finally went to bed.

I had a feeling I wasn’t going to sleep very well because how excited I was for this trip, but I actually managed to get some quality sleep.

My sister-in-law Katie drove me to the airport in Detroit, and she brought along Taylor to try to prep her for the 12-hour car ride they have in a few weeks. Taylor slept the entire way to the airport and was just waking up when we arrived. The drive itself wasn’t terrible. Traffic sucked at times and Katie’s GPS took us to some funny places, but I got to the airport with ample time.

Getting through security was a breeze with the exception of how many people were in line. It was my first experience with a body scanner too, which is harmless. I had to do a report on them in one of my marketing classes at CMU and how they are not only used in airports but for fashion as well. This was when they were just starting to be used in airports.

Once I boarded the plane, I was exited to see that I had the first row behind first class — and let me tell you — hello leg room!!! I have the window seat with plenty of leg room, no complaints here!!!

I’m not really sure what I have in store tonight when I get into Houston. I’m being picked up and then taken to the hotel, but I’m unsure if I have the night free. I know tomorrow I have to go through training orientation and meet the managers and stuff. I’m hoping I get tonight off to check out the city.

I brought some apparel to broadcast where I’m from. I’m traveling in my Tigers hat, I brought a Tigers shirt, a few Michigan State Shirts, a Central Michigan shirt an a Saginaw Spirit shirt as well. I’m proud of where I come from, and I’m looking forward to making it known I’m from the mitten. (I am going to make it a point to say “pop” instead of “soda” as often a possible too. I’m going to have a lot of fun and I can’t wait.

Keep checking back for updates throughout my travels while I’m down in Texas. I don’t think I’ll get many more opportunities like this.

Ohh, this heat is gonna suck!

Until next time …

Leave a Reply

