2008: It's time to change the Tupac song

obama_4color_omarkExcuse me, Mr. Shakur, but we ARE ready to see a black president.

(I apologize for the lateness of this post, I have just never put down on paper or in a blog my reaction to the 2008 United States Presidential Election. Here goes.)

For some, the war in Iraq was the main issue in choosing a president in last month’s election. For others, the race of Illinois Sen. Barack Obama was their deciding factor. The economy was another important issue on the minds of voters, myself included, nearly four weeks ago.

“Vote for Change,” or some variation of that, was the overall “theme” of this presidential election. Arizona Rep. Sen. John McCain spoke of his “change” being a change from the typical Republican Party tactics that have not seemed to work under George W. Bush. 66,882,230 people didn’t buy into what he had to say, and elected Obama as the first black president in United States history.

I, however, feel that Obama’s color was practically a non-issue. Others disagree. I saw Barack Obama as the best bet this country had to dig ourselves out of the hole we have gotten ourselves into. In my eyes, John McCain was unfit for the job. Wait, I don’t mean unfit, he is more than qualified to be president, I just didn’t feel he would have done a very good job. All in all, it doesn’t matter if Obama was black, Indian, a pale-Irishman, or Asian, his policies are what I voted for, not the color of his skin.

In 2004, I will admit I did not make an educated decision when I voted, and I found myself upset at my “ignorance,” per se, in my voting decision. I was never into politics personally, I always thought it to be boring and uneventful. I always felt that politicians are nothing but liars out to screw us over and deepen their pocketbooks. With the caliber and importance of the election this year, I became more interested in politics and what Obama and McCain had to say during all of the debates. With that in mind, this year I vowed to make a more educated, well-informed vote, and I feel I did just that.

All in all, I am excited to see how things will pan out over the next four years. Another 66 million people are too, as we have shown race is no longer an issue in electing a president.

Yes.We.Did

Leave a Reply

